38 - 2022 Recap

Hello music people 👋

This is a special issue.

In the short period from this August to now, the end of 2022, G.A.S. Newsletter has grown surprisingly fast. Of course, this is something every operator of a media outlet wants. But, the people I've got to know, the studios I've seen, and all the inspiration I get are much more valuable to me.

The logic when I started G.A.S. Newsletter was simple. I want to see how other artists approach music-making and get inspired. And if I want that, I'm sure there are people out there that want it too. It turns out that the assumption was correct.

Coming 2023 the promise stays the same. Find independent artists and shine the spotlight on them so we can all learn and get inspired from their ways. Now that this is established, it gives space for more experiments to take place. Products and services centered around spreading knowledge and pushing creativity, are on the way. Of course, not everything is going to work but this is a risk I'm willing to take because we collectively get better with each iteration.

For this issue, I've gathered parts from my secretly favorite section (and a hint for things to come). That is creativity tips, books, movies, and music that are mentioned in the issues of 2022.

I'm happy and excited for the future.

Keep being you đŸ‘©đŸ»â€đŸŽ€đŸ‘šđŸŸâ€đŸŽ€

Creativity Tips

“Keep It Simple!”

I found out while building up my sets, that the whole progression could become really technical. There’s so much to do if you want to keep yourself busy with the engines. But at some point, if you struggle with your performances because of too much techniques in your safe environment, imagine how you will be struggling with a room full of people listening to you?⁠ I’m slowly but surely stripping down my patterns and transitions.

Don't try to force yourself to learn how to do it all at once.

Focus on what you find inspiring and fun right now - then move on to the next fun thing. Eventually you will have learned all that you need to know and have had a more enjoyable journey towards your goal.

Stop thinking, start creating.

Limitation is everything.

Having an extensive setup is great, but I've learned that not every piece of gear needs to be used on every project. I've gotten much more interesting results by limiting myself to just a handful of tools and really extracting everything I can out of them.

Creativity must be cultivated.

Take everything and throw it out the window, don't be lazy. Unplug the cables and reattach them, take out that drum machine that you haven't used for a long time.

Don't always start from the same point because you will always arrive at the same point.

Reduce the possibilities and create more rather than getting lost in detail.

A good idea catches on and finds its place.

If you're just starting with music, or you're just lacking inspiration, make covers of your favorite songs.

I often start with video game music, or even 90s rock, and turn that into synthwave. Start from that, then make it your own.

Just remember, there is no need to reinvent the wheel, every song out there is a variation of something that exists anyway! Good artists copy, great artists steal (Pablo Picasso said that apparently)!

Use the social network in a safe way to learn from others especially about new equipment to get influenced. Don’t be nervous or intimidated to ask questions


Keep writing!

I think consistency is the best way to be productive, but don't let that consistency burn you out.

Take breaks. Take your time.

Focus as much time on sound design as you do on arrangement.

In electronic music the lines between arranging, mixing and sound design become very blurred. So make sure your spending time focusing on fine tuning the sounds you've used to make sure the timing of the envelopes and decay tails are snappy and on beat with the timing of your song! Spending that extra few minutes making sure your nailed in the exact timing on all the elements will allow for a much sharper final product.

Less is always more if you want to sell records but more is way more if your just playing for fun.

That and don’t ever see it as a chore.

Music should always be an escape. That’s when the good stuff happens.

Don't produce for other producers.

That is just your ego driving. I am guilty of it. We all are. But the reality is, they most likely won't be impressed. You will probably do one of two things: a) either hurt their own ego, and dishearten them, which is not a good thing, or b) place yourself in the firing line of unnecessary scrutiny.

It is cliche, sure, but just produce things that you want. Even if it is just the 12 bar blues on a ukulele. When you go into a session with your soul driving, you will always walk away fulfilled, and always remain creative.

Reduce, Reuse, Recycle.

Put another way, sample your own music and turn it into something else.

Enjoy what you're doing.

If it's not making you smile, leave it for a few days and come back to it.

Knowing when it's time to move to another track, sound, scale...

Something to try for some; let things sound chaotic to start and work your way backwards.

Chaos exists everywhere in science, it's human nature. How you chose to tame it becomes it's own character.

Keep creating. Always keep creating.

As I got older, I became more mature, and I realized one thing: you have to listen to yourself. Listening to your body, listening to your mind, that's what will make you feel better to create.

When I decided to devote myself fully to my solo project, I had to stop collaborations with other musicians, to leave a band... At the time, I felt very bad towards these people, I felt angry. Today, I have the impression to finally accomplish myself, to finally do what I like.

Listening to your body is also very important: too much pressure can lead to critical situations for your health (I have experienced it), you just have to feel what your body says: today, no, I don't feel like making music even if I am late, I feel more like going for a walk or doing some gardening. And when I come back to music, everything is so much easier.

Listen to yourself!

I think it's important to know what you want to express.

If you already have the goal in mind from the aesthetics of the sound, the way is an easy one.

I also think it's important not to copy what already exists. It's much more exciting to create something unique than something that's been around a thousand times.

Keep as fit and healthy as you can.

Get out and see new things/have new experiences as often as you can (gigs included) and you’ll more regularly be in good state of mind for making music.

Improvise a lot and approach musical technology improvisationally and curiously.

Even if it's just you working with equipment, listen and respond to what the equipment says and plays. We might be the ones more or less in control of what comes out, but they (and the people who made them) make our ideas possible.

Be bravely slow.

I did a lot of music with a mindset of being quick is the only right way. But now I find that this tends to push me back into making the same stuff over and over again.

But taking time and really enjoying the process is a way more rewarding experience, giving you a sense of yearning for more exploration. You take this feeling and let yourself be hungry for a new session or better yet a new exploration into the whole unpredictable world of sound. This will then make you excited whenever you sit back with your gear just to noodle around and most importantly have fun doing it.

It's essential and difficult for me to keep balance between thought and sense. But sometimes I can create something radical and interesting even if I'm biased towards one or the other.

Make a plan for making actual music and stick to it.

If you keep at it consistently you will improve your skills and amazing things will start to happen.

Finishing music is the best way to get better at finishing music - even if you're not sure you'll like the track. It might end up being your best because you're not worrying about it being perfect.

Before embroidering to infinity, it is important to find an idea. An abundance of sounds will never replace an absence of notes.

Don’t stop having fun.

If it’s not fun, take a break. If you are stressed out or unable to focus, whatever moment could have been will not find you.

Taking care of your mental health is the biggest tip I could give anyone.

Get out of your own way as often as you can.

Try not to over analyze or critique yourself too much. Have fun, be free, be in the moment.

Assume yourself and go ahead!

Having an experimental spirit.

I’ve been taught Not To Do something or avoid making “mistakes” in the early days. People teach by their success experiences. Following their path usually won’t have too much trouble and almost guarantee you decent results.

But it won’t surprise you. It won’t bring you something new.

When you are making your own music, especially when you’re creating music with software, I encourage you to try something you’ve never done before. You can’t break it by turning the knobs all the way up. So, don’t worry about it. Being too careful and trying to avoid mistakes only makes you lose an opportunity to discover a new sound.

Unless you’re working for a client. Because experimenting with new skills, or new methods that you’re not familiar with on their project is not fair. Keep it to your own creation until you acquire this skill.

My main advice for music production and creativity is to let yourself go.

Try by all means to let yourself be carried away by what you do, by your environment, by a movie or a novel...

Get inspired by something other than the music or artists you love, sometimes a simple phrase or image will trigger more ideas in me than going back to my favorite records that I already know by heart.

Listen to music, all of them. Don't just listen to one genre.

Don't buy into gear hype.

You don't need the latest and greatest gear to make good music.

Put your phone in airplane mode.

Books, Movies, and Music

Movies / Shows

Books

La Horde du Contrevent

Music

Café del Mar - Compilation

AIR - Artist

Groove Armada - Artist

John Cage - Artist

Morton Feldman - Artist

Steve Reich - Artist

Brian Eno - Artist

Trent Reznor - Artist

Clint Mansell - Artist

In Case You Missed It

For jams, knob-twists and pad hitting videos go to G.A.S. Instagram

Do you know someone who would like this email? Forward it to them đŸ“€ 💗

Are You New Here?

Get emails like this one in your inbox 👇

Join the conversation

or to participate.