15 - Olivier Delevingne

Hello music people πŸ‘‹

Today in the spotlight, Olivier Delevingne

Composing for TV Shows and advertisements for 30 years, Olivier knows the industry.

But he is not getting comfortable.

Always on the lookout to make new sounds, his story-telling style, and his studio setup constantly evolve. On his website he says β€œMUSIC IS NOT ONLY A MATTER OF NOTES, WE ALSO NEED TO INVENT NEW SOUNDS” 🎢

Read Time: 3.30 minutes πŸ“°

The Setup

Gear List

The Google cloud is too small to list my gear ;-)) - I have some favorites:

  • Roland - TR-808

  • Moog - Voyager (Electric Blue Edition)

  • Avid - Pro Tools

  • Haken Audio - Continuum Fingerboard

  • Leaf Audio - Microphonic SoundBox

  • Teenage Engineering - Pocket Operators

  • Teenage Engineering - OP-1

  • Eurorack - Doepfer modules

Who are you and what is your relationship with music?

My name is Olivier Delevingne.

I am located in France, precisely the suburb of Paris, in the town were Claude Debussy was born in 1862. The King Louis XIV was also born there in 1638. And so was I, some years after.

I work as a professional composer and producer since 30 years. I started in my early 20's by composing for advertisements and TV shows.

What's the one thing in your studio you can't live without?

This summer, air conditioning !

What's your process?

It depends on the type of project.

For my audiovisual projects I let myself be inspired by the script, the pictures and the mood that the filmmaker wants the music to evoke. Then a sound, a riff or a rhythm may be the starting point, but the music often turns to be (very) different from my original idea.

How would you explain your style?

I want to create musical story telling. If to archive my goal I need to score for 3 cellos and one tuba, or with my huge modular synth system, I do It.

Has this journey of building a hardware setup changed the way you think about music or life in general?

For 30 years I have had many different setups, full hardware, full software, then full hardware again. Nowadays to do my job, I'm always in a rush so I need to use digital tools to make total recalls. But it's funnier to tweak knobs.

What’s your ONE tip on music-production or creativity?

Knowing when it's time to move to another track, sound, scale...

A book/movie/article that fueled your creativity?

How Music works, by David Byrne.

Do you have a question in mind that you think I should have asked?

"Do you have any projects in the pipe?"

Yes I do, many in October on my Bandcamp.

How can people find you?

In Case You Missed it

For jams, knob-twists and pad hitting videos go to G.A.S. Instagram

Do you know someone who would like this email? Forward it to them πŸ“€ πŸ’—

Commissions may be earned from the links above.

If you're not already a member, you can join us πŸ‘‡

Join the conversation

or to participate.