02 - Shimmery.mp3

Hello music people ๐Ÿ‘‹

Today on the spotlight, Shimmery.mp3ย 

We get to see his space (itโ€™s jaw-dropping), what role it plays in his creativity and how hardware has changed his approach in music-making. ๐ŸŽถ

Read Time: 3 minutes ๐Ÿ“ฐ

The Setup

Gear List

  • Genelec 1030A

  • Arturia Keystep

  • Hologram Electronics - Microcosm

  • Teenage Engineering - Pocket Operator Modular 400

  • Teenage Engineering Pocket Operator - Modular 170

  • Bastl Instruments - SoftPop SP2

  • Moog - Subsequent 37 CV White

  • Moog - MF-104 Analog Delay

  • Sequential - Prophet Rev2

  • Plinky

  • Fender - American Special Stratocaster

  • Fender - Blues Jr III Cannabis Rex Limited Edition

What's the one thing in your studio you can't live without?

Might seem boring but: A well planed workspace. I need to have free desk space, cables and power sockets ready so I can easily start using whatever gear I feel inspired by.

Combine this with a nice aesthetic environment and I'm a happy camper!

What's your process?

I tend to start with the instrument that I'm, in that moment, most drawn towards. It can be a guitar pedal, synth or a tape machine.

I have a lot of gear but I don't use all of it all the time. And I've built my workflow around just that. Sometimes you gotta let an instrument be for a few months before you're really inspired to use it again. While you're using one instrument - others are left to rest until it's their turn to be "the most desired" once again.

How would you explain your style?

I started out as a guitar player and one of my all time guitar heroes to this day is B.B. King.

His playing was always the perfect mixture of sweet and sad. I aim to create the same vibe with my music.

Has this journey of building a hardware setup changed the way you think about music or life in general?

I think that it has.

I don't feel that I need as many tracks in my DAW for a song to feel finished. Before transitioning into hardware I had around 80-120 tracks in a song. Now it's more in the realms of 15-20 tracks.

Don't "fix" a sound by hiding it in clutter!

Whatโ€™s your ONE tip on music-production or creativity?

Don't try to force yourself to learn how to do it all at once.

Focus on what you find inspiring and fun right now - then move on to the next fun thing. Eventually you will have learned all that you need to know and have had a more enjoyable journey towards your goal.

How can people find you?

For jams, knob-twists and pad hitting videos go to G.A.S. Instagram

Do you know someone who would like this email? Forward it to them ๐Ÿ“ค ๐Ÿ’—

Gianniย @gianni.kampiotis

If you're not already a member, you can join us ๐Ÿ‘‡

Join the conversation

or to participate.