30 - BOODAMAN

Hello music people ๐Ÿ‘‹

Today in the spotlight, BOODAMAN

He has been making music since he was 6 years old. He bought his first synth when he was a teenager and haven't stopped since.

He loves constrains and sequencers. Between a family and a full time job his on to his 5th album release. Letโ€™s see how he does it ๐ŸŽถ

Read Time: 6 minutes ๐Ÿ“ฐ

Studio

Gear List

This issue is brought to you by

Follow to see in-studio videos from the featured artists ๐ŸŽ›๏ธ๐ŸŽš๏ธ

Interview

Who are you and what is your relationship with music?

"Without music, life would be a mistake" said Nietzsche. I think so!

I've been making music since I was 6 years old, I started with classical (piano, vocals, music theory) but not at a high level.

I fell in love with electronic music around the age of 10-12, in the 80s when Jean-Michel Jarre and Vangelis were at the top and almost all the POP produced at the time was made from synths and drum machines. I bought my first used synth and sequencer, a Roland D-50 and an MC-500, when I was a teenager and haven't stopped since . I'm 46 now.

I have been living in Geneva since 1987. I have a family and a full time job. It takes a lot of my time but also allows me to have a consistent and reassuring financial and emotional balance.

So I produce in the evening when the children are in bed (which becomes more and more difficult with advancing age).

Sure, it's not dreamy but it's a constraint and I love constraints. They increase my creativity tenfold.

What's the one thing in your studio you can't live without?

Without hesitation a sequencer! I compose everything on a hardware sequencer, in my opinion, PCs are formidable weapons for mixing but shit for composing music, moreover I love the repetitive side of musical patterns and I focus on the musical intention rather than complexity.

In short, I could not do without my Cirklon and my Nerdseq.

What is the least expensive piece of gear that gave you the most results?

The Mio XL MIDI interface has made my entire studio even more modular and I love it! For a little over 300 euro, frankly it's a very acceptable price.

What's your process?

As said before, I create all my music on hardware sequencers. It is therefore a kind of additional constraint which for me is a source of creativity.

Honestly, I don't know how I do it, what my creative process is. But I like to stack the layers of harmonic melodies (quite nice) and bring the intensity and emotion up and down using the filter, the envelope and waveshaping for example.

When I'm happy with what I have, I record track by track in my DAW sometimes directly with effects and sometimes dry but always evolving each sound by hand.

After it's long hours of mixing and editing in FLStudio, that I use since the 90s.

How would you explain your style?

I don't have a style and I don't like labels. When people ask me, I say that I make dreamlike electronic music.

Whatโ€™s your biggest struggle?

I produce 98% (approximately) with hardware and modular synthesizers the remaining 2% are samples of FX or sometimes drums or voices. It is still a constraint, a luxury and an infinite pleasure!

Has this journey of building a hardware setup changed the way you think about music or life in general?

Ahahah, funny question. I think so eventually.

I like the physical control of things. A button = a function/action and everything must be modular in order to make it evolve permanently, even perhaps my system of thought... which is perhaps still too rigid ^ ^

Whatโ€™s your ONE tip on music-production or creativity?

Assume yourself and go ahead!

A book/movie/article that fueled your creativity?

"Les fous du son" de Laurent de Wilde.

I don't know if this book, which wonderfully retraces the entire history of electronic violin making, has been translated into English.

ฮ‘nything else you'd like to say?

I would like to say that at my little level of more or less local artist I gave myself the means to please myself and that I was ashamed of it for a very long time of the opulence of material.

Now I assume because I work a lot and I reinvest all the money gains (royalties, concert fees and record sales) related to the music in the studio and the production of my albums. The 5th is coming !

How can people find you?

In Case You Missed It

For jams, knob-twists and pad hitting videos go to G.A.S. Instagram

Do you know someone who would like this email? Forward it to them ๐Ÿ“ค ๐Ÿ’—

Commissions may be earned from the links above

Are You New Here?

Get emails like this in your inbox ๐Ÿ‘‡

Join the conversation

or to participate.