05 - Blossom Bisquits

Hello music people πŸ‘‹

Today on the spotlight, Blossom Bisquits

He favors inspiration above all else so he tells us how he gets it. His setup is ever-changing but knows what he's looking for. Let's see how he does it. Oh... and he jams EVERYWHERE. Check his instagram 🎢

Read Time: 6 minutes πŸ“°

The Setup

Gear List

*is favorite

  • Arturia Microfreak (*)

  • Arturia Minibrute SE

  • Arturia Keystep

  • Korg Volca Sample

  • Korg Volca Mix

  • Korg Volca Kick

  • Korg Minilogue XD

  • Korg Nts-1

  • Korg Kaosspad Quad

  • Korg Mini KP2 (*)

  • Akai Force

  • Roland System-1

  • Roland J6

  • Behringer RD8

  • Behringer RD6

  • Behringer TD3

  • Novation Circuit Tracks (*)

  • Novation Circuit Rhythm

  • Yamaha Reface CP

  • Yamaha Reface DX

  • Casio SK1 (*)

  • Blipbox

  • IK Uno Synth Desk

  • Alesis SamplePad

  • Perform VE (*)

  • Fender Telecaster

  • Yamaha Classic guitar

  • Alhambra Flamenco guitar

  • You Rock guitar

Who are you and what is your relationship with music?

My name is Davide Santandrea. I live in Russi, Italy, near Ravenna with my wife, son and our dog.

I started doing music in 1991. At that time I was listening to Nirvana, Guns & Roses and Metallica and I started playing electric guitar. The world abounds with rock guitarists, but it always needs a keyboard player, so I started playing piano and keyboards.

I played rock, metal and prog for 10 years. Then I played with Transgender and got passionate about hardware gear. Got inspired by Aphex Twin, Matmos, Boards of Canada, Autechre and Squarepusher. But the artists and albums that definitely opened my eyes were Bjork (Vespertine album) and especially Radiohead (Kid A + Amnesiac). At that point I continued to play live and also produce electronic tracks.

For thirty years I would say that I have never stopped playing. And over time it has become more of a "disease" than a passion!

From an economic point of view, music is not a profession, I have some income, mind you, it's a kind of second job. I'm a freelancer, I deal with graphics and website development as my main revenue.

I think it's cool, because music is the freedom to do what I want and I wouldn't like to have to compromise with someone who imposes a schedule or deadlines on me...

What's the one thing in your studio you can't live without?

I have a very free approach. I like to change the setup and places to jam.

I think inspiration is everything but it's also hard to get it from a synth or a laptop.

So the most correct answer to the question is inspiration.

What's your process?

1. I have a habit of improvising.

Improvisation allows me to create something dirty and imperfect.

I record and listen calmly the next day, and I can understand if there is something good in the jam or not.

2. I then develop the idea on the DAW and if it's a good one, I turn it into a Blossom Bisquits track.

How would you explain your style?

I have to be honest, I listen to a wide variety of music and have many different projects. I like to make dark and atmospheric music (Lorn), distorted synths, big (Autechre) and full-bodied drums that sound like the Roland CR-78.

I have the habit of inviting a dear friend of mine, for the cello parts, with whom I have been playing for some time. The treated cello is an important element for my sound.

Another typical element is working on the timing of the songs and finding strange, not perfect, timings (Radiohead).

I also like the over-the-top, out-of-time and slightly off-key samples (Boards of Canada).

My music doesn't have to be and doesn't have to sound too perfect as if it came out of a sequencer.

Has this journey of building a hardware setup changed the way you think about music or life in general?

I often change my gear setup. After I play with it a while I get bored and get the feeling that it's blocking me.

Twenty years ago I was also using Ableton Live or other software but now I don't. I find them limiting, also I don't like being in front of a monitor to make music since my day job is working with computers.

I am looking for instruments that give me good feedback right away. I have to feel them mine. I work well with Circuit Tracks, Microfreak and the DFAM.

For example Akai Force is too cumbersome, it needs to be studied and organized, it has a lot of potential, but my creativity needs limitations and not potentials.

For this reason I often change instruments. I'm looking to find the right feeling when improvising with what is on the desk.

What’s your ONE tip on music-production or creativity?

Creativity must be cultivated.

Take everything and throw it out the window, don't be lazy. Unplug the cables and reattach them, take out that drum machine that you haven't used for a long time.

Don't always start from the same point because you will always arrive at the same point.

Do you have a question in mind that you think I should have asked? Or anything else you'd like to say?

On September 14 an EP will be available on all digital platforms and will be released under the Be.Holders project.

The EP will be called Dante333.

It is obviously dedicated to Dante Alighieri's Divine Comedy. There will be 3 songs lasting 3 minutes and 33 seconds. I participated in the project with Francesco Rossi on vocals and Erik Strauss It is a particular work resulting from a remote collaboration during the Covid-19 2021/2022 period.

How can people find you?

Every day on Instagram you can find new jams or new music.

Would you like to get featured in the newsletter?

Reply to this email and we'll set it up. πŸ”†

Do you know someone who would like this email?

Forward it to them πŸ“€ πŸ’—

Gianni @gkampiotis

If you're not already a member, you can join us πŸ‘‡

Join the conversation

or to participate.