07 - HaezrDrive

Hello music people 👋

Today we're featuring HaezrDrive

Minimal Setup. Maximum creativity. HaezrDrive shows that you don't need much to do what you want. That is, if you know what you want. Let's see his setup and what he has to say  🎶

Read Time: 6 minutes 📰

The Setup

Gear List

  • Korg NTS-1

  • Korg Electribe 2

  • Teenage Engineer Pocket Operators

    • PO-133 (Streetfighter)

    • PO-128 (Megaman)

    • PO-137 (Rick & Morty)

  • **Necessities**

    • MyVolts Candycords

    • MyVolts Mickxer

    • Arturia Keystep 37

    • Behringer UMC 204HD

    • Sony MD Walkman MZ-R700

Who are you and what is your relationship with music?

Hi, I'm HaezrDrive!

I'm a Belgian synthwave artist living near the city of Antwerp.

I went to the music academy (piano and music theory) as a kid in the late 80s, but quit after 3 years. As a teenager I dabbled in guitars and singing, like everyone else I guess. After that, I didn't touch an instrument for 20 years!

Today I make synthwave music, some original, but often covers of video game music. I have a couple of songs on Spotify, but most of my "experiments" live on Instagram.

My day job consists of teaching and video game related research, and in a previous life I was a game software developer.

I'm lucky to teach at a university college as it gives me a flexible schedule and enough time for my family and music. And video games!

What's the one thing in your studio you can't live without?

My chair!

20 years of desk jobs ruined my back, so I have this Herman Miller Sayl chair which my wife got me as a PhD graduation present. Life saver!

Next on my list is more space. We're moving into a new house soon, and I hope to have more desk space for my gear so that I don't have to move things around each time I have to work or game…

What's your process?

I tend to grab whatever synth or device I have with me, and start hitting keys. Can be the MacBook's keys with some virtual synths, an iPad with an Audiokit synth, or a Pocket Operator. If I'm at my desk, I will definitely go for the Arturia Keystep 37 hooked up to my Roland Boutique JX-08. I go through patches and randomly play melodies or chords that I feel fit the sound, until I find something I really like. That's usually the start of a song. I'll record it to a DAW or if I'm away from the computer, I'll pull out my phone and make a video of my hands playing the melody…

As for finishing, that's a whole other story.

I tried working DAWless at first, so I bought a second-hand Korg Electribe 2 as it's the only affordable device that can play 16 external synths at once. It's a great device, but it always feels like a fight to get things done.

After 6 months I decided I'd stick to DAWs to create full, finished songs, while the purity of hardware helps my creative juices flowing.

How would you explain your style?

I'm a huge synthwave fan, a genre I discovered through the YouTube channels NewRetroWave and The '80s Guy. Love me some Gunship and The Midnight!

As an 80s kid, I decided I wanted to be part of this, so I take a lot of cues from this genre and try to add my personal flavor. I spent the 90s watching MTV all day every day, and have been gaming since the 80s, so my influences come from all over the place. You'll notice a lot of video game soundtrack covers on my SoundCloud, and even rock songs turned synthwave.

I'm still searching for that typical HaerzDrive sound and genre, but I'll just have fun with it, we'll see where it goes.

Has this journey of building a hardware setup changed the way you think about music or life in general?

Τhanks to hardware and definitely affordable synths, I have rediscovered my love for making music.

It started Christmas 2020, when I got my hands on the Teenage Engineering Pocket Operator 137 Rick & Morty Edition. I loved it! I spent a year annoying everyone in the house with its tiny horrible speaker.

A year went by, just messing around, and Christmas was coming up again. I asked (yes grown-ups still get to make Christmas lists) for a Korg Volca Bass and the PO-128 Megaman, which must be the best Pocket Operator around. Those 3 synths were (briefly) enough to make proper video game/synthwave inspired cover songs (make sure to check out my Maniac Mansion track and Star Fox cover on Soundcloud).

Half a year and a few synths later, and I have songs on Spotify. And it all started with a calculator sized synthesizer…

What’s your ONE tip on music-production or creativity?

If you're just starting with music, or you're just lacking inspiration, make covers of your favorite songs.

I often start with video game music, or even 90s rock, and turn that into synthwave. Start from that, then make it your own. I took the Monkey Island theme and turned it into something completely different (track on Spotify).

Just remember, there is no need to reinvent the wheel, every song out there is a variation of something that exists anyway! Good artists copy, great artists steal (Pablo Picasso said that apparently)!

A book/movie/article that fueled your creativity?

A few years ago I ran into these YouTube videos by Reverb, "The Synth Sound of…" series. Those convinced me I needed synths, way before I was actually making music. If you like 80s movie scores and music, it's a must watch!

Do you have a question in mind that you think I should have asked? Or anything else you'd like to say?

If you're thinking of making music, make music!

I started when I was 10, then took a 30 year break. I regret that. A lot!

How can people find you?

For jams, knob-twists and pad hitting videos go to G.A.S. Instagram

Do you know someone who would like this email? Forward it to them 📤 💗

Gianni @gkampiotis

If you're not already a member, you can join us 👇

Join the conversation

or to participate.