81 - Polydata

Artist Interviews 🎢 Studio Tours πŸŽ›

Hello music people πŸ‘‹

Today in the spotlight, Polydata

Coming from Estonia, he is influenced by late 70s and early 80s synth music and its visual style. Listen to his music and you will instantly be transported there 🎢

Read Time: 7 minutes πŸ“°

Studio

Gear List

This issue is brought to you by

Follow to see in-studio videos from the featured artists πŸŽ›οΈπŸŽšοΈ

Interview

Who are you and what is your relationship with music?

My name is Shahruz Moshtael and I have a project called Polydata. I'm from the USA but am currently living in Estonia.

I've been playing and writing music in different settings for many years, and I also studied composition.

My income comes from both music and other audiovisual work. But for this particular project, it started during the pandemic as something I didn't think much of, just an idea I had of continuing the sound of a certain area of synth music, particularly heard in documentary scores, ident bumpers and sound libraries of the late 70's and early 80's, and their corresponding visual elements.

It's become much more than I ever planned it to be.

At the encouragement of a friend, I've also added a store where I sell merch, mainly preset sound banks for different hardware and software synths, which has been doing quite well.

I don't really have a master plan for Polydata, just seeing where it goes and making things I enjoy.

Which piece of equipment in your studio is essential to your production process?

I'd say there really isn't an essential specific piece of equipment.

The equipment is nice, but making music doesn't rely on any particular piece of equipment.

I love using my 1981 Prophet-5, but if that was gone and replaced with a budget synth, or I just used plug-ins, I would still make music and try to figure out creative ways to use what I have.

What is the least expensive piece of gear that gave you the most results?

I really have been loving using the GForce / Oberheim OB-E plug-in, along with the SEM, which like the original hardware is a mono version of the OB-E. It just sound so good and I love that Oberheim sound. It's pretty simple in terms of features and fits so well in all kinds of situations.

Walk us through your process for creating and producing music.

There's no one way of doing it.

I could start on the guitar, at the keys, improvising or planning things out carefully on notation paper.

In any case what is important is how you develop your ideas.

Sometimes it's best just to stick to a phrase or musical idea and just continue to developing it instead of waiting for the "perfect" idea before building a song around it.

What is a production technique that you always come back to?

Simple EQ's, like 1073 emulations. They sound great, are time-tested classics, and importantly are very simple and limited, so you can focus and work quickly.

I find myself wasting more time and getting worse results with more complex plug-ins that have a lot of options.

How would you explain your style?

Trying to continue the sound of the era I mentioned above.

I like trying to make synths sound as organic as possible, not too "synth-y" or bright sounding if that makes sense.

I'm also always trying to have the mix sound smooth and well integrated, easy on the ears with nothing poking out too much when you listen.

What is a big challenge you have as an artist?

Having enough time to work on things. Mixing is a challenge too, not something I'm specialized in, but I'm always trying to get better.

Has building a hardware setup changed your perspective on music or life in general?

I'd say reducing hardware has definitely shaped my perspective.

In my experience, having 1 or 2 synths that you like and that you can really focus on is way better than having a ton of stuff that can paralyze you with too many options.

Look at all the iconic guitarists that have such unique playing styles from each other, though they're all just using their hands and 6 strings.

Even if you have a lot of gear, just deciding to focus on using 1 or 2 pieces of hardware for a period of time can help you focus and force you to be creative with it. If you only have one thing, you'll figure out new ways to really unlock it's potential - and yours.

One tip on how to spark creativity?

Collaboration can always a huge spark.

That's not always possible directly, but you can expose yourself to different types of art for inspiration.

I remember going to a museum and being so inspired afterwards, just seeing lots of really well-crafted art always makes you want to go and make stuff. I also like "mood boards" or just keeping a collection of images for inspiration. I definitely think "hearing" through images can be helpful, and can help you to focus.

A book, movie, article, or album that has inspired you?

As far as Polydata goes, I really love the album Science of the Sea - by JΓΌrgen MΓΌller (aka the late Norm Chambers). A big inspiration - I've loved listening to it since it came out and it's something I always go back to.

Anything else you'd like to say?

Just make stuff no matter what you have. Even if you have 2 sticks on a log, try find how to use them best, organize musical ideas, and make something people will find uplifting.

Where can people find more of your music and connect with you online?

In Case You Missed It

For jams, knob-twists and pad hitting videos go to G.A.S. Instagram

Do you know someone who would like this email? Forward it to them πŸ“€πŸ’—

Commissions may be earned from the links above.

Join the conversation

or to participate.