76 - Kid Sleepy

Artist Interviews 🎶 Studio Tours 🎛

Hello music people đź‘‹

Today in the spotlight, Kid Sleepy

Coming from the United States, a multi-instrumentalist that creates music in multiple genres 🎶

Read Time: 3 minutes đź“°

Studio

Gear List

This issue is brought to you by
FL Presets Newsletter | Free FL Studio presets delivered weekly.
Join 5,000 FL Studio power users and receive the best FL Studio presets.

Interview

Who are you and what is your relationship with music?

Kid Sleepy. Located on the tip of Long Island with a place in Queens as well.

Began playing piano at 4, switched to clarinet at 9, taught myself some guitar at 13, been doing mostly synths and such since then.

My music makes enough to keep it online and I’ve performed many shows.

Which piece of equipment in your studio is essential to your production process?

Logic Pro, but I love external gear.

My prophet rev2 has been pretty important.

What is the least expensive piece of gear that gave you the most results?

I had an AKG C214 I acquired for ~$200 that got a great amount of work done.

Walk us through your process for creating and producing music.

I let the mood create itself but I love working with minor keys.

I’ve been sampling a lot recently too.

What is a production technique that you always come back to?

Bus my drum samples.

Double tracks to place effects only on one and mix to taste. I’m not a fan of too much automation or corrections. Get it right from the get go.

How would you explain your style?

Hip-Hop with synths.

But I also have an album that sounds like Animal Collective tried to make a Radiohead record and did an ok job.

I also have mixed and produced albums for other artists (singer/songwriters, rock and roll).

What is a big challenge you have as an artist?

Getting exposure.

Has building a hardware setup changed your perspective on music or life in general?

I realized how much I really love knobs, faders, buttons, and cables.

One tip on how to spark creativity?

Don’t try to sound like something else.

You’re going to sound how you sound, whether or not you want to imitate something else.

A book, movie, article, or album that has inspired you?

Authors like Burroughs and Selby Jr. inspired a lot of lyrical writing. Musician/engineers like Page from Zeppelin did a lot too.

Where can people find more of your music and connect with you online?

Kid Sleepy, available on all streaming platforms (Apple Music, Spotify, etc). Two albums, “In Cahoots” and “Don’t Get Comfortable”

In Case You Missed It

For jams, knob-twists and pad hitting videos go to G.A.S. Instagram

Do you know someone who would like this email? Forward it to them 📤💗

Commissions may be earned from the links above

Are You New Here?

Subscribe and get emails like this one in your inbox.

Join the conversation

or to participate.