75 - Markoss Galactico

Artist Interviews 🎢 Studio Tours πŸŽ›

Hello music people πŸ‘‹

Today in the spotlight, Markoss Galactico

Coming from the United States, his first DAW was Reason but now he’s transitioned to a DAWless setup. Local rappers craved for his beats, later on earned an Audio Production degree and now he is making music while inventing products 🎢

Read Time: 5 minutes πŸ“°

Studio

Gear List

There's a lot more but those are my favorites.

This issue is brought to you by

Follow to see in-studio videos from the featured artists πŸŽ›οΈπŸŽšοΈ

Interview

Who are you and what is your relationship with music?

I'm Markoss GalΓ‘ctico located in Cypress, Tx.

Reason was my first DAW in the early 2000s and that was when I started wanting to create professionally.

I realized I had musical talent when the local rappers would go crazy over my beats. I then got a BAS degree from The Art Institute of Houston in Audio Production.

As far as money, I'm an inventor and have products on the market. I'm also a media editor and producer for various businesses around Houston area. Making a living creating music is my ultimate goal though. It's just a very rewarding feeling creating something musically that I can enjoy and most of the time others share that enjoyment with me. That's the feeling I chase often.

Which piece of equipment in your studio is essential to your production process?

MPC Live 2 is my go-to when I'm in the studio and around the house. It's got everything from great synths, sample packs and effects in one beautiful box, WITH SPEAKERS! Then all my gear gets sampled into the installed 1tb SSD.

Side note: I use mostly dawless gear as in, without software mainly because I already use a screen daily, and I'd prefer not staring at a computer monitor all day everyday.

What is the least expensive piece of gear that gave you the most results?

Definitely, the PO-32.

I've made most of my good ones while walking my dog and zoning out for hours. The splice app is useful and easy to find something to sample and chop.

Walk us through your process for creating and producing music.

I start off with finding a drum kit.

I usually choose between sampling Syntakt or pulling samples from a sample pack. This gives me a groove for the song. I will then arrange a few patterns and variations. After that is play with sounds until it sounds dope.

I use synths and jam out, then sample parts that I like. Or I'll just rummage through sample packs. I mostly use sample packs for the free use aspect and to minimize possible copyright headaches.

Once I have enough sounds and them arrangement to my liking, it's effects time. I use microcosm, zoia, and sp-404 mk2, or plugins from my standalone MPC.

That's really the end.

What is a production technique that you always come back to?

I'm almost always sample chopping. That feeling when you find new pattern that just hits...there's nothing like it!

How would you explain your style?

I don't really label myself but the genre I make the most is hip hop, house, reggaeton and techno music in that order.

What is a big challenge you have as an artist?

Releasing music is my number one challenge because I keep overthinking the infinite options and possibilities in attempts to make things better.

Has building a hardware setup changed your perspective on music or life in general?

Yes, arranging based on sound and other physical gear makes it more enjoyable to be hands on than just mouse clicking to a grid.

It is expensive though.

One tip on how to spark creativity?

Clear your mind or go about it with a childlike mentality usually works for me.

A book, movie, article, or album that has inspired you?

Donuts by J-Dilla

The Beauty in All by Oddisee

Anything else you'd like to say?

We live in the best time in the history of the world. It's truly remarkable and I feel blessed to be around when so much fun and gear exists.

Where can people find more of your music and connect with you online?

In Case You Missed It

For jams, knob-twists and pad hitting videos go to G.A.S. Instagram

Do you know someone who would like this email? Forward it to them πŸ“€

Commissions may be earned from the links above

Join the conversation

or to participate.