71 - Teder

Hello music people đź‘‹

There's a sudden spot opening.

Instead of profiling one person, I thought that this is a good opportunity to start introducing ourselves.

We are among very creative people and we could work with each other. I've seen people's lives change from very simple things like this on the internet.

So, you can reply to this email with one paragraph answering the question "Who are you and what is your relationship with music?". You can also provide one picture of you or your studio.

One of the next issues will feature your responses.

Today in the spotlight, Teder

Teder is an electronic live music performer from the Netherlands who has always been fascinated by the energy of live music, especially when played and experienced with others. As a result, his setup is highly portable but not compromised 🎶

Read Time: 8 minutes đź“°

Studio

Gear List

This issue is brought to you by

Follow to see in-studio videos from the featured artists 🎛️🎚️

Interview

Who are you and what is your relationship with music?

Hello my friends!

My name is Teder, an electronic live music performer from the Netherlands. I've always been fascinated by the energy of live music, especially when played and experienced with others.

I started out with classical piano lessons during high school, got my first electric guitar and studio equipment and played in several bands and music groups, always geared towards playing live.

Later in life I got inspired by electronic music (from Daft Punk and Air to Stimming and basically all Atomnation label records) and I could once again enjoy the delights of playing live music, this time around with synthesizers, midi sequencers and other electronic musicians.

Which piece of equipment in your studio is essential to your production process?

For me, the midi sequencer is the heart of every setup.

The sequencer's performance capabilities have always been key in my creative process, as I prefer to spend as little time in the DAW as possible and still create highly expressive music.

I've used the Elektron Octatrack for years and finally switched to the Squarp Hapax that gives me more overview and flexibility to automate parameters and alter sequences for all instruments to keep performances playable and interesting. The midi data from the sequencer also trigger the visualizations on the Raspberry Pi that were programmed in Processing, they react to kick, hi hat and snare signals.

What is the least expensive piece of gear that gave you the most results?

I have to credit the Korg Nanokey Studio here.

It doesn't fit the current pedalboard mounted rig anymore, but it was such a powerful little controller, it's highly underrated for its price and capabilities. I programmed it extensively to control all my synths and effects, just like the old school Novation Launchcontrol in the current rig.

Walk us through your process for creating and producing music.

I have to say that events including other musicians, such as “Jamuary” (1 jam every day of January) and real life collab jam sessions with other musicians are responsible for my most inspirational work.

Other times I might hear something that could be a great sample, podcasts and games have proven great sources for vocal snippets and inspiration in the past.

I’d always start a jam session and just play around with the sample, adding some layers with the different instruments and thinking of ways to build and release energy.

I used to record everything to a stereo track into my DSLR, but since I’ve switched to the Bluebox I’m able to multitrack record my jams. This means I can now load the tracks into Ableton and do mixing and mastering there, which is helping me work towards one of my goals: releasing a physical record some day.

What is a production technique that you always come back to?

This has to be sidechaining and master bus compression.

In the DAW this wasn’t much of a challenge, but in a live setup every compressor is a physical device you have to carry around and get connected properly. The RNC1773 is an incredible unit with great quality, and receives a clean kick signal from one of the Blackbox outputs. The mix from the Bluebox enters into the UA25EX interface that has an analog limiter that boosts the output signal before it enters the “front of house” or PA.

How would you explain your style?

I’d say a highly improvisational mix of french house, melodic deep house with a hint of techno.

What is a big challenge you have as an artist?

I’d say any part-time musician's biggest challenge is crossing the gap between being proficient as a part-time amateur musician and becoming part of the professional music / performing arts industry.

Even though I personally really enjoy any live electronic performance, the format is still quite a niche, audiences are more used to listening to mixed and mastered songs and big promoted music events are of course far more profitable.

I think we’d see a lot more creative work and interesting performances if artists wouldn’t always need to bend and mold their work to fit the most profitable format.

Has building a hardware setup changed your perspective on music or life in general?

The latest incarnation of my live rig is purposely built to be highly portable and space efficient. These restrictions and the results I’ve had with them have given me a new perspective on music creation. Y

ou do not really need 50 layers to build a track, and especially when working together with other artists “less is more” and there are only so many parameters you can control while performing live. These controlled, expressive sounds are the ones that stand out in a track and are the ones worth focusing on.

One tip on how to spark creativity?

Next January, fire up Instagram and keep an eye on the hashtag #jamuary.

The community is very kind and supportive. People always comment on everyone's tracks, whether you are a veteran or just starting out. The vibe is quite encouraging and keeps everyone creating. Much like brainstorm techniques, these challenges and prompts can get you out of your comfort zone and start sharing your work, even if it is not completely finished yet.

I truly believe this helps you become a better musician!

A book, movie, article, or album that has inspired you?

I’m a huge fan of all David Lynch’s work. Definitely don’t sleep on the great audio work and surreal visual experiences in both the old and new Twin Peaks.

For albums, Stimming’s Alpe Lusia and Polynation’s Igneous have made life-long impressions on me.

Where can people find more of your music and connect with you online?

I’m most active on Instagram

Full videos of my work on YouTube

Latest releases on Linktree

In Case You Missed It

For jams, knob-twists and pad hitting videos go to G.A.S. Instagram

Do you know someone who would like this email? Forward it to them 📤 💗

Commissions may be earned from the links above

Are You New Here?

Subscribe and get emails like this one in your inbox.

Join the conversation

or to participate.