70 - Trix2

Hello music people 👋

Today in the spotlight, Trix2

Coming from Portugal, he enjoys music production as a form of meditation and an escape from daily stress. His setup is quite portable but that does not limit him 🎶

Read Time: 6 minutes 📰

Quick update:

Comments are now enabled.

You can comment on each issue directly on the website.

Also, you'll find a "Leave a Comment" button on every newsletter so you can directly comment, ask each artist questions, etc.

Studio

Gear List

This issue is brought to you by

FL Presets Newsletter | Free FL Studio presets delivered weekly.

Join 5,000 FL Studio power users and receive the best FL Studio presets.

Interview

Who are you and what is your relationship with music?

My name is Paulo Gaspar, 43 years old. I'm Portuguese and I live in Beja.

For me, music production is more of an escape from the daily stress of my professional life. It's like any other form of art, a form of meditation.

Where confusion is shaped and encrypted in sound and image.

Music production is another one of my interests that I had in my youth. And now that I have more availability, why not?

I earn my living as a mechanic, but I still dream of making a living in the art world. It's like you were born for it.

Which piece of equipment in your studio is essential to your production process?

Korg Volcas will always be essential in my productions.

Although my project is still in an embryonic stage, for the future I want them to be part of live performances. For this I am studying a pre-connected unit as a project. Let's see what comes around.

What is the least expensive piece of gear that gave you the most results?

Korg Monotron Delay, what a space machine!!

Cosmos is a big theme in my project as Trix2 is an abbreviation of singularity that I created. All topics about space and science fiction always have my attention.

Walk us through your process for creating and producing music.

First I find myself looking for samples as a theme and upload them to my korg volca sample. I choose a scale of music, compose the drums, and then it's an experiment phase where I can end up in I don't know where.

When I produce with the Korg Volcas, I first mix everything well together on my Mackie fx mixer, then record it in as much as a jam session. Then do a humble mastering and that's it.

I pretty much use the same formula when I compose with the mashine jam from Native Instruments in Mashine 2 DAW.

What is a production technique that you always come back to?

The choice of a musical scale. In particular, minor scales.

How would you explain your style?

As an artist I feel that I can say that I am a free spirit, how quickly I am interested in faster rhythms and how quickly I feel that I must not have rhythm at all. Freedom. Freedom in the art world is very important.

What is a big challenge you have as an artist?

The biggest challenge as an artist is without a doubt is time.

I often find myself postponing my project for that very reason. I always keep defined plans with a large time margin, to make sure I get it right. I don't do big promotions on social media cause at the moment it's more important to do it for myself and for my well being

Has building a hardware setup changed your perspective on music or life in general?

It actually changed a lot from my perspective of how music was created. And now I have an improved view of how music is produced today. Now you can have a home studio and from there the possibilities are endless.

One tip on how to spark creativity?

Sleep first, have a dream !!!

A book, movie, article, or album that has inspired you?

Aphex Twin is certainly an inspiration for many, what fascinates me most is its freedom of creation.

Do what you want because you want and enjoy doing it

Anything else you'd like to say?

I would like to thank Giannis for the invitation to talk a little about my humble project. Many thanks Giannis, keep doing this amazing work.

Thanks to everyone who took the time to read and to listen to my music. Music is as important to those who listen to it, as it is to those who produce it. And big thanks to those who promote it.

Where can people find more of your music and connect with you online?

In Case You Missed It

For jams, knob-twists and pad hitting videos go to G.A.S. Instagram

Do you know someone who would like this email? Forward it to them 📤 💗

Commissions may be earned from the links above

Are You New Here?

Subscribe and get emails like this one in your inbox.

Join the conversation

or to participate.