68 - Kid Modus

Hello music people πŸ‘‹

Today in the spotlight, Kid Modus

Coming from California, he has a background in music. Not doing music full time at the moment but it’s in the plans. He also talks about his love of modular synths and effects and the way he approaches them 🎢

Read Time: 6 minutes πŸ“°

Studio

Gear List

Oooooh... yeah I'll do favorites lol

Just to name a few... lol

This issue is brought to you by

Follow to see in-studio videos from the featured artists πŸŽ›οΈπŸŽšοΈ

Interview

Who are you and what is your relationship with music?

I go by Kid Modus and reside in California.

It seems music was always in my family, so it was probably only natural that I fell into it to express myself.

I hope I can make music as a full time thing soon haha. I did have my website for my music when I was heavily making instrumentals and beats and that brought in some money but not enough. But I don't mind doing what I'm doing now for a stepping stone. Brings in good money to support my family and to maintain music a little haha.

Which piece of equipment in your studio is essential to your production process?

Probably my pedal chain.

I do love Eurorack FX but some pedals do a tremendous job for what sound I'm looking for at the time.

What is the least expensive piece of gear that gave you the most results?

I just grabbed the Moog Mavis...

I'm actually really happy I bought that before the Mother 32. Just opened a lot more possibilities. Ooramusic on IG/ Tiktok was a huge inspiration to get it. He did a whole album just using the Mavis... tremendous. And who doesn't love a built in wave folder??

Walk us through your process for creating and producing music.

I do smoke a lot, so I do spark up first and just relax, maybe watch some YT videos of a module I wanna experiment with etc. Get some inspiration or just try an idea I had. Really depends how I am that day.

I don't really try to think to much on stuff, that's why I love modular, it just organic when making music or noise haha.

Just get in the zone and go from there.

What is a production technique that you always come back to?

Basic Structure of music lol.

I try to break away from the norm of making music but naturally I come back to the basics or what have you. With Eurorack I usually, always generative and try not to use standard music 101 stuff. Sometimes you have to haha.

How would you explain your style?

If you listen to my Spotify, SoundCloud etc ( shameless plug...) it's mostly chill and kinda tells a story how I was at the moment when making a piece.

I was never good with words so music talks for me.

What is a big challenge you have as an artist?

Not giving up...

It's hard when you give yourself a goal and it doesn't happen, when people don't pull through, when plays are not as much as last month.

Same goes for sales. I never had a problem really with writers block so I would get through and be alright but from being in bands, producing, doing promotion etc it's hard and it can send you to an edge.

If you're fully invested in your craft, you feel me on this lol but you pull through and go back to the drawing board and try something different.

There is always a way.

Has building a hardware setup changed your perspective on music or life in general?

Yes.

I am way more hands-on today than I was about 2 years ago. Having plug-ins and all is dope but really sculpting your sounds hands on is tremendous. And it got me way more into electronic music and inspired me to build a module one day soon.

One tip on how to spark creativity?

Watch your peers!!

My fans, friends, anyone who is talented and loves music, I watch them. They can give you so many ideas and inspiration.

A book, movie, article, or album that has inspired you?

The man behind the poster is a good Doc about Drew Struzen.

Any of Hans Zimmer stuff has always sparked inspiration.

So many books also.

Anything else you'd like to say?

Just keep pushing if you're feeling down about your stuff. Be proud of what you make and always be kind.

Where can people find more of your music and connect with you online?

In Case You Missed It

For jams, knob-twists and pad hitting videos go to G.A.S. Instagram

Do you know someone who would like this email? Forward it to them πŸ“€ πŸ’—

Commissions may be earned from the links above

Are You New Here?

Subscribe for free and get emails like this one in your inbox.

Join the conversation

or to participate.