65 - Sendepause

Hello music people ๐Ÿ‘‹

Today in the spotlight, Sendepauseย 

After completing his sound engineering education at SAE he started making music with software but eventually moved on to hardware and modular synthesizers. He is running a synth event, Voltage Control Amsterdam, while being one of the organisers of Dutch Modular festival ๐ŸŽถ

Read Time: 4 minutes ๐Ÿ“ฐ

Studio

Gear List

This issue is brought to you by

Follow to see in-studio videos from the featured artists ๐ŸŽ›๏ธ๐ŸŽš๏ธ

Interview

Who are you and what is your relationship with music?

Iโ€™m a modular synthesizer lover.

I started 7 years ago I think. After I finished my sound engineer education at SAE I started making music again. Fist all in the box. Then I wanted hardware again and after the hardware the Modulars came.

Itโ€™s a hobby, Iโ€™m not a trained musician whatsoever.

I'm also running a modular synth event in Amsterdam called Voltage Control Amsterdam. And with friends Iโ€™m one of the organizers of Dutch Modular fest.

I make music as Sendepause and sometimes play live. I love cats, I have 4 of them.

Which piece of equipment in your studio is essential to your production process?

My modular in in particular my Buchla Music Easel and my Buchla200 system. I have build all my Buchla stuff myself.

What is the least expensive piece of gear that gave you the most results?

Uhm. I have an expensive hobby. I think my boss dd-3 pedal.

Walk us through your process for creating and producing music.

I start with an idea and it will always be different. Sometimes I want to make techno, other times melodic Suzanne Ciani Buchla stuff.

I try to figure out some melodies, see if the patterns fit and sound all together OK. I make a patch, record it for YouTube or Instagram and thatโ€™s it. I always forget to press record in my DAW unfortunately, so most of my stuff only exist on YT or Instagram.

What is a production technique that you always come back to?

Put a kick, hats and claps under a track and speed up the tempo

How would you explain your style?

I donโ€™t know. I do think itโ€™s very personal. And I don't sound like anyone else I think.

What is a big challenge you have as an artist?

Iโ€™m not a trained musician and I hate that.

It means that I have ideas but itโ€™s very difficult to put them in music. So I can only make something that Iโ€™m able to do, which is not much. Would love to be able to read sheet music and be able to play piano, compose, structure etc.

Also I have a hard time to really make a finished track.

Has building a hardware setup changed your perspective on music or life in general?

No and yes. You are never satisfied and itโ€™s never enough.

One tip on how to spark creativity?

Hangovers work great for me.

A book, movie, article, or album that has inspired you?

Alessandro Cortini has made me build an Music Easel so yeah.

Where can people find more of your music and connect with you online?

YouTubeย 

In Case You Missed It

For jams, knob-twists and pad hitting videos go to G.A.S. Instagram

Do you know someone who would like this email? Forward it to them ๐Ÿ“ค ๐Ÿ’—

Commissions may be earned from the links above

Are You New Here?

Subscribe for free and get emails like this one in your inbox.

Join the conversation

or to participate.