59 - Moby Vic

Hello music people 👋

Today in the spotlight, Moby Vic

Coming from the United States, he is an audio engineer who also produces his own music. He heavily favors samplers and tells us about his approach with them 🎶

Read Time: 5 minutes 📰

Studio

Gear List

This issue is brought to you by

Follow to see in-studio videos from the featured artists 🎛️🎚️

Interview

Who are you and what is your relationship with music?

My name is Vic! I go by Mixedbyvic or Moby Vic, depends on which hat I’m wearing.

Music is my whole life, I am an audio engineer and have been running a recording studio in Tampa FL going on 5 years. Along with producing my own records for more than 10 years now.

Which piece of equipment in your studio is essential to your production process?

I use a combination of samplers but the brains of the operation is my Roland SP808.

What is the least expensive piece of gear that gave you the most results?

Recently picked up Sonicware’s Liven Lofi12, very cool approach to old school sampling.

Walk us through your process for creating and producing music.

I almost always sample from vinyl so I'll start getting one spinning.

Depending on how I feel from what I'm hearing, I choose to either chop samples on my MPC1000 or the Lofi12. After I basically get the progressions and sequences together I'll start putting everything on pads on my SP808. That machine has a very DAW like sequencer and a mixer as well.

So I exclusively make the song on my SP808 and record a two track into the DAW and master in Ableton.

What is a production technique that you always come back to?

SP style chopping on either my 404SX or 808. The SP808 has mute groups! So I can quickly chop and start coming up with loops.

How would you explain your style?

I definitely vary from Boom Bap hip-hop influences to trip-hop or maybe jazz trip-hop lol.

What is a big challenge you have as an artist?

Staying inspired.

When I'm not producing my own records I am helping someone else produce their's. Over the years I found that it can actually take away from your personal experience in making music.

So like mixing over time you find a good balance.

Has building a hardware setup changed your perspective on music or life in general?

Absolutely.

Using DAWs since 2011 and professionally use a DAW today. Using hardware has taken that away almost completely, when I'm creating anything.

One tip on how to spark creativity?

Force yourself to make something, especially when you don't feel inspired. Shoutout my good friend Ahrs Ahrtis.

A book, movie, article, or album that has inspired you?

Portishead’s self titled album changed my life since I first heard it in 2009.

Αnything else you'd like to say?

Shoutout to my brothers in our band R.P.D.B!

Fuchi, Ahrs, John and Sean.

Where can people find more of your music and connect with you online?

I have released 3 beats tapes on all platforms under, Moby Vic.

In Case You Missed It

For jams, knob-twists and pad hitting videos go to G.A.S. Instagram

Do you know someone who would like this email? Forward it to them 📤 💗

Commissions may be earned from the links above

Are You New Here?

Subscribe for free and get emails like this one in your inbox.

Join the conversation

or to participate.