44 - Fuchi

Hello music people ๐Ÿ‘‹

Today in the spotlight, Fuchi

Coming from the United Stated, he is more than thinking outside of the box. From tiny groove-boxes to gaming consoles, Fuchi is using every box he gets his hands on ๐ŸŽถ

Read Time: 6 minutes ๐Ÿ“ฐ

Studio

Gear List

  • Ensoniq - EPS

  • Roland - SP404MK2

  • AKAI - MPC2500

  • Boss - SP202

  • Teenage Engineering - PO-33

  • Teenage Engineering - PO-80 Record Factory

  • Korg - Volca FM2

  • Yamaha - 1604

  • Focusrite - ISA Two

  • Symetrix - 525

  • Focusrite - Sclarett

  • Motu - MIDI Interface

  • Fostex - Mulitracker XR4

  • Apple - iPad

  • Sony - PlayStation 2

  • Nintendo - GameBoy Advance

  • Nintendo - Switch

  • Nintendo - 3DS

This issue is brought to you by

Follow to see in-studio videos from the featured artists ๐ŸŽ›๏ธ๐ŸŽš๏ธ

Interview

Who are you and what is your relationship with music?

Hi, my name is Fuchi. I'm a beat maker and producer based out of Spring Hill, FL.

I started making beats about 14 years ago in FL Studio and Reason with my good friend Ahrs Ahrtis. Since then I've mainly used Ableton as my main DAW along with a bunch of hardware.

Two years ago I moved into my new studio space and I have upgraded to using a Yamaha console and out of board FX units in a hybrid analog and digital set-up.

I'm an IT professional by day and beat maker by night.

Which piece of equipment in your studio is essential to your production process?

My MPC 2500 its the one piece of gear in my studio that constantly keeps me inspired to create more!

What is the most budget-friendly piece of studio gear that gave you the most results?

I would say the Teenage Engineering PO33

Walk us through your process for creating and producing music.

I've had a lot of different approaches to how I started my music but as of late I've been really into sampling.

So I typically start all my songs nowadays with a record on the turntable at 45rpms then sample it into the Ensoniq EPS. I sample at this rate due to the sample time limitations on the EPS. After I find the sample pitch and the chop points I sequence it in the DAW using MIDI until I find the correct tempo.

My DAW is my main MIDI clock and sequencer. I use a MOTU MIDI interface and I hook that up into all of my out of board samplers and synths. After I have the sample sequence going I like to hop into my MPC for the drums. Which I have a ton of preloaded programs and drum packs from AJ Hall, impreshn, and Easterday.

Then the next thing I like to do is add a bassline or any extra instruments if needed. Then, finally, I process everything through a chain of out of board FX. Starting with the EQ on my console, then going through a ISA Two, and ending up at the Symetrix 525 Revive modded compressor.

The absolute last thing I do is send it off to MixedByVic at Suite 16 Studios in Tampa, FL.

How would you describe your style as an artist?

My musical style is kind of all over the place. So I would say I'm mainly a beat maker and producer. I just make whatever is inspiring me at the moment.

As for what defines my sound I would say the way I go about processing the audio. I tend to use a lot of vintage samplers and out of board FX to color my sound. The SP404MK2 is an absolute beast of an FX unit and I use that on pretty much every beat I make.

Whatโ€™s your biggest struggle?

My current biggest struggle is promoting my releases.

I have a lot of fun with making my reels in IG as well as making the projects themselves. But I do find it a bit of a challenge to push your album to the right avenues. Whether it be playlist placements or blog spots.

Has building a hardware setup changed your perspective on music or life in general?

Music definitely, life not so much.

Having a console and music gear definitely gives me the feeling of "I\m in the song and actually producing it" if that makes any sense whatsoever LOL. Being able to have my hands on the console, pads, knobs, etc. definitely leads to a more tactile experience in music production.

Whatโ€™s your ONE tip on music-production or creativity?

Consistency is key!

A book, movie, article, or album that has inspired you?

Outliers by Malcolm Gladwell and The Matrix

ฮ‘nything else you'd like to say?

Thank you!

How can people find you?

Instagramย 

All DSPs: Fuchi

All Socials: @fuchi_music

In Case You Missed It

For jams, knob-twists and pad hitting videos go to G.A.S. Instagram

Do you know someone who would like this email? Forward it to them ๐Ÿ“ค ๐Ÿ’—

Commissions may be earned from the links above

Are You New Here?

Subscribe for free and get emails like this one in your inbox.

Join the conversation

or to participate.